Nigerians Eligible for Fully-Funded Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships: Applications Now Open

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships for 2024 have surfaced, offering an incredible opportunity for students dedicated to driving change within their communities. This prestigious scholarship isn’t just about academic pursuits; it’s a chance to immerse oneself in a new country, culture, and global network that could shape a lifetime.

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) have opened their doors, inviting individuals to pursue a two-year Master’s degree in low or middle-income Commonwealth countries. As per information provided by The Association of Commonwealth Universities, Nigerian citizens, belonging to a middle-income Commonwealth country, can now seize this remarkable chance to apply for these scholarships that span across the UK.


This scholarship opportunity extends beyond financial aid; it’s a gateway to immense growth and learning. Every year presents two application cycles—cycle 1 in November/December and cycle 2 in March/April. Interested Nigerian youths and other applicants need to submit only one application, although they are welcome to apply more than once (with certain conditions).

Eligibility status

Eligibility status According to the U of T website, those eligible for the scholarship must be:
  1. Applicants must be international students, meaning non-Canadians who require a study permit.
  2. Applicants should either be in their final year of secondary school, have graduated no earlier than June 2023 and be commencing their studies at the University of Toronto in September 2024. Individuals already enrolled in post-secondary studies cannot be considered.
  3. Those intending to start their studies at another post-secondary institution in January 2024 are ineligible for consideration.

What’s Covered by the Scholarship? The QECS scholarship encompasses:

  • Full coverage of tuition fees.
  • A one-off arrival allowance.
  • Provision of a Research Support Grant (upon request and subject to approval).
  • Living allowance (stipend) for the duration of the award.
  • Return economy flights to the host country.

Commonwealth Scholarships


How to Apply: The application process involves:

  1. Reviewing the list of countries and universities hosting scholarships in this cycle.
  2. Visiting the respective university websites for detailed information on the desired course (links provided).
  3. Completing and submitting a QECS application for the chosen university/course by clicking the ‘Apply now’ button.
  4. Creating a myACU account if not already in possession, and initiating the application process by clicking ‘get started.’
  5. Submitting an application to the selected university for admission to the chosen course.

Applications are currently open and will remain so until January 10, 2024. For detailed application guidelines, interested candidates can refer to the provided link.

Click here to view the QECS application guidelines. 

This opportunity is not just about academic pursuits—it’s a chance to broaden horizons and make a significant impact. Don’t miss the chance to apply and pave the way for a transformative educational journey!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please, turn off  your adblocker or use a different browser!